Grades of Release

There are three basic grades of release, as listed below in order of decreasing frequency and likelihood of the explosive gas atmosphere being present:
a) continuous grade;
b) primary grade;
c) secondary grade.
A source of release may give rise to any one of these grades of release, or to a combination of more than one.

Source: IEC 61892-7, Mobile and fixed offshore units – Electrical installations – Part 7: Hazardous areas. Global Standards


Comments are closed.